Railway Jobs

Railway Recruitment 2020

Railway Recruitment 2020: Indian Railway is the world’s fourth-largest railway network with a total track of 121407 kilometers. The Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) and Railway Recruitment Cell (RRC) fill the vacancies notified by the Indian Railway Ministry for NTPC and other posts. NTPC (Non-technical Common Category) CBT-1, CBT-2, ability check, aptitude test, document review round, and medical examination selection process. For other vacancies, the RRC or RRB must agree on the recruitment process. More regarding 2019 Railway Recruitment and Indian Railways can be found on this page.

History of Indian Railways

In the year 1832, the first railway ran from the Red Hill Railways in Madras to transport granite for road construction. The first-ever passenger train in India, however, ran for 34 kilometers between Mumbai and Thane in 1853, with 400 passengers. Previously, the trains were only used to transport goods. A horse-drawn tram was introduced in Calcutta in 1873.

On February 3rd, 1925, the first electric passenger train arrived, operating between Victoria Terminus and Kurla. In 1951, the Indian railways were split into four zones. Sleep coaches were introduced in the trains in 1951, while the first fully air-conditioned train in India ran from Howrah to Delhi soon after in the year 1956.

Subsidiaries and Undertakings

The railways of India has 16 PSU as subsidiaries. Below is the list of all the subsidiaries of Indian Railways:

  • IRFC
  • MRVC
  • RVNL
  • RLDA
  • PRCL
  • KRCL
  • CRIS
  • RCIL

Structure of Indian Railways

The Indian railways are divided into 18 zones which are listed as follows:

  • Central Railway
  • Eastern Central Railway
  • Eastern Coast Railway
  • East Railway
  • Metro Railway Kolkata
  • Northeastern Railway
  • North Western Railway
  • North Central Railway
  • North-East Frontier Railway
  • Northern Railway
  • South Central Railway
  • South Eastern Railway
  • South East Central Railway
  • Southern Railway
  • Western Railway
  • West Central Railway
  • South Western Railway
  • Southeastern Railway

Type of Trains

Below is the type of trains that the Indian Railways have introduced till now:

  • Vande Bharat Express
  • Tejas Express
  • Gatiman Express
  • Shatabadi Express
  • Rajdhani Express
  • Duronto Express
  • Humsafar Express
  • AC Express
  • Double Decker Express
  • Uday Express
  • Garib Rath Express
  • Yuva Express
  • Jan Shatabadi Express
  • Sampark Kranti Express
  • Kavi Guru Express
  • Vivek Express
  • Rajya Rani Express
  • Mahamana Express
  • Intercity-Express
  • Ayodhya Express
  • Jan Sadharan Express
  • Suvidha Express
  • Superfast Express
  • Express
  • Mail Passenger
  • Suburban
  • Metro
  • Mountain Railways

Railway Education and Research

Below are the railway research and education departments that have been established by the railways of India:

  • Research Design and Standard organization
  • National Academy of Indian Railways, Vadodara
  • Indian Railway Institute of Civil Engineering, Pune
  • Indian Railway Institute of Electrical Engineering, Nasik
  • Indian Railway Institute of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Jamalpur
  • Indian Railway Institute of Signal Training and telecommunications, Sekunderabad
  • Indian Railway Institute of Transport Management Lucknow

Records of Indian Railways

Here is the list of all the organizations that manufactures the parts and the locomotives as a part of in house manufacturing for the Indian Railways:


  • Chittaranjan Locomotives Works, Chittaranjan, West Bengal
  • Diesel Locomotive Works, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
  • Diesel Locomotive Factory, Marhowra, Bihar
  • Electric Locomotive Factory, Madhepura, Bihar.
  • Diesel-Loco Modernisation Works, Patiala, Punjab

Wheel & Axle and Rolling Stock:

  • Rail Wheel Factory, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Rail Wheel Plant, Bela, Chhapra, Bihar
  • Integral Coach Factory in Chennai, Tamilnadu
  • Modern Coach Factory in Raebareli, Uttar Pradesh
  • Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala, Punjab